August 27, 2015

Selinsgrove Area Rotary Club

Be a Gift to the World

Vol. 88, No. 8                                     President – Mike Piecuch         Editor – Dottie Anderson

Next Meeting: September 3, 2015 – 11:45 a.m., SVCC. Speaker is Kevin Oswald, Director of Food Service for both Selinsgrove and Lewisburg School Districts and SUN Tech. Chad Cohrs is the host. Greeter is Tom Gates. New member installation.

 Aug. 27, 2015: Twenty-eight Rotarians and guests (Wanda Knapp, Wes’s wife) gathered to hear Dennis Wolfe describe the Selinsgrove Area High School Alumni Association. Dave Betz was the host and Mike Flock was the greeter. Dennis, a retired teacher (Columbia Montour Vo Tech for 28 years), served on the Selinsgrove School Board in the 80’s and attended high school in Selinsgrove – he fond memories and connections led him to become part of the alumni association formed by Eric Rowe. Bob Soper is also part of the initial group. They hope eventually to have a foundation that can help the school and its students with both academic and athletic projects. Toward that end, they seek new members (you don’t have to be a grad) at the cost of a onetime membership fee of $25.  They now do presentations about the association to the graduating classes, a monthly newsletter, and are raising funds to provide a 2nd press box on the football field through the Seals Legacy Fund. The annual signature event is scheduled for Oct. 18 in the high school cafeteria and will feature speaker Jeff Musser, a graduate who assisted at the well know miners rescue.

Announcements:  Croquet tournament meeting on Sept. 3rd at the Selinsgrove Library at 5:30 p.m. All who want to participate are welcome to attend.*Sales are well underway for the golf ball drop. Please sell as many as you can. Tickets at $10 per were distributed to members by John Stokinger. Because of the need to have complete records regarding these numbered tickets, we are asked to turn in stubs, money and any unsold ones by 9/3. We need to sell 500 to break even. Also note that volunteers are needed 9/5 and 9/12 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. to sell tickets at the mall where a special location will be set up. Call or e-mail Art Bowen to sign up – 570-850-2256.**8/25 Snyder County Night Out at East Snyder Park was a big success with more than 3000 people in attendance. *** Sheet was circulated for volunteers to work at the golf tournament. Bob Soper also circulated thank you notes from this year’s scholarship recipients.****Market Street Festival is 9/26 and we will be circulating sign up for assistance at that event next week. 

Sergeant at Arms:  Marv Rudnitsky collected happy fines as follows: Happy Birthday Earl Ferster (who also paid at the end for +15, trip to Williamsburg with family and enjoying great granddaughter; Wanda and Dennis); himself (SU arriving freshmen); Art Bowen (Wanda, Dennis and NJ trip); John Thompson (radio project); Donna Schuck (WVa trip to visit daughter, Wanda, Dennis); Joyce Anderson (Wanda and Dennis); Mike Flock (Little League tournament and PA team); Mary Peterhaensel (good daughter visit); Toby Skinner (ouch and sorry about Mary’s food); Wes Knapp (joy of returning medical equipment); Chad Cohrs (speaker and press box and score board); Dave Lawer (speaker, kindergarten memories, scholarship recipient notes); Mike Piecuch (golf ball drop workers, Snyder Ct Night out and volunteers); and Dave Betz (speaker and Little League tournament)..

Future Programs:

Sept. 10 – Tentative: Official Visit by the District Governor. Substitute Editor is Jared Roush. Board Meeting precedes regular meeting) OR classification talk. SVCC, 11:45 a.m.

Sept. 17 – Dr. Jonathan Niles, a Susquehanna University professor, will speak about the Freshwater Research Initiative. Michael Damiano is the host. Wesley Knapp is the greeter, SVCC, 11:45 a.m.

Sept. 24 – TBA, Hal Dunkelberger is the host. Melissa Laniewski is the greeter. SVCC, 11:45 a.m.

Oct. 1 – TBA, Ken Wagner is the host. Charlie McCuen is the greeter. SVCC, 11:45 a.m.

Quotation:  “You may have to fight a battle more than once to win it.”  Margaret Thatcher